I Understand
Cookies help us deliver the best experience on our website. By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies. For more information click here.

The Islands of Sicily

Sicily has 4 groups of islands surrounding its coast all accessible by ferry or hydrofoil, however visitors cannot reach them all by day trip.

The Aeolian Islands are chain of 7 volcanic islands situated in the Tyrrhenian Sea off the north east coast of Sicily and a listed UNESCO World Heritage Site.

Ustica (9km2) is 60km north west of Palermo and the 3 Egadi Islands are off the west coast, all can be accessed by hydrofoil from Palermo and Trapani respectively.

The 3 Pelagie Islands, which include Lampedusa, are located 200km to the south of Sicily accessed by ferry (5/8 hours) from Porto Empedocle, 6km south of Agrigento.

Pantelleria, the largest of Sicily's offshore islands (83km2), is 40km closer to Tunisia than Sicily but accessed by ferry from Trapani (6 hours) or hydrofoil in the summer months from Mazara del Vallo (2 hours).

The Aeolian islands

The Aeolian Islands 




The Egadi Islands


The Pelagie Islands



Find Your Perfect Holiday


Foreign travel advice: Foreign, Commonwealth & Development Office have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. Click Here> to get the latest advice.
© 2023 Hargreaves & Nurse Ltd